69th Annual Meeting

Our Annual Meeting will take place on Wednesday, February 23, 2022 at 7:00pm.

For the health and safety of our members, the meeting will be held via phone conference and live-streaming video.

If you plan to participate in the meeting, please register online or call 715-627-4336, ext. 2309 no later than 5 pm on Friday, February 18.

  • If you plan to watch the live-stream video, you will need a PC or mobile device with internet  access. To call-in to the phone conference, all you need is a landline or cellphone.
  • On Monday, February 21, you will receive a confirmation email containing a call-in number and video link, a meeting ID number, the meeting agenda, and a copy of the 2021 annual meeting minutes and annual statement.
  • During the virtual meeting, your phone line or computer microphone will be muted. If you have any questions during the meeting, please email: annualmeeting@covantagecu.org.

Even though we cannot be together this year, we hope you will join us for our virtual meeting. You will hear progress reports and exciting plans for 2022. In addition, we will have our traditional cash drawing for those who participate in the meeting.

Board of Directors Election

The nominating committee is presenting three individuals for the open seats in this year’s election to the board of directors. Qualifications of these nominees are provided below. Other eligible members may be nominated by means of petition provided the requirements presented below are met. If no additional nominees are advanced by petition, each nominee will be elected by acclamation. Directors will serve a term of three years. 

If there are individuals nominated by petition, members will vote online only. Online voting will begin on February 8, 2022 with the last day of voting on February 18, 2022. For more information, visit www.covantagecu.org, watch your email, or look for an announcement in our lobby. 

Board Nominations by Petition

Any member who wishes to be placed in nomination for a board opening may do so by submitting a written petition. Nominees must have been a member for one year prior to December 31, 2021 and must be eligible to vote. Said petition should include a signed and dated statement of willingness to serve, along with qualifications. The petition must be signed by at least 50 CoVantage members who are eligible to vote. The deadline for petitions is January 28, 2022. Send petitions to: CoVantage Credit Union, ATTN: Chairman, PO Box 107, Antigo, WI  54409.

Director Candidates

BerndtJulie Berndt, Antigo, WI

Julie has been a CoVantage member for 30 years. She is president of Johnson Electric Coil Company and is responsible for the overall operations of the business. She also is a member of the company's board of directors. 
Julie earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Management and a Master of Science degree in Operations and Supply Chain Management. She is currently a board member of the NTC Foundation and past member of the Antigo/Langlade County Chamber of Commerce.
Julie believes that her education and work experience has taught her to think strategically, be proactive, and adapt to ever-changing conditions, while staying true to her organization's mission and values, which will benefit CoVantage Credit Union, its board and our community.
Julie and her husband have two children, one granddaughter, and a grandson on the way. 

HaltinnerDennis Haltinner, Appleton, WI

Dennis served on the CentralAlliance Credit Union board prior to the merger with CoVantage in 2019 and has served on the CoVantage board for three years. He has been a member for 39 years. 
Dennis is a retired information technology professional. He previously worked at Blyth, Inc. as VP Chief Information Officer, where he was responsible for all aspects of global information technology and managed development and infrastructure teams in Europe and North America. He was also employed at Kimberly-Clark in numerous management positions. 
Dennis earned a bachelor’s degree from Lawrence University-Appleton, a master’s degree from University of Kentucky-Lexington, and an MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. 
Dennis is currently Treasurer of the Kimberly Community Band, and a volunteer tax preparer for low income individuals and families through the IRA VITA program. In the past, he was involved with the Computer Science Advisory Board at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth, the Economic and MIS Advisory Board at UW-Oshkosh, the Executive Advisory Board with Junction Solutions, and the Appleton School District Technology Advisory Committee. 
Dennis believes he brings a strong understanding of the mission of credit unions and will bring a passion for customer service. He regards technology as an important competitive differentiator if used appropriately. Because of his experiences, he believes he can offer helpful advice and become an advocate for its proper use.
Dennis and his wife, Joanna, have three children and two grandchildren.

ShawanoEugene Shawano, Argonne, WI

Eugene has been a CoVantage member for 27 years and has served on the board for seven years. He owns a consulting business, Seeking One Self Solutions, which helps those in need with addictions and substance abuse, especially young adults. Eugene was past administrator for the Forest County Potawatomi Community where he worked for 18 years dealing with many aspects of business, budgets and program management. 
He leads a program called Fighting Addictions In Thy Honor (F.A.I.T.H.), where he helps others find themselves through faith. He is also a case manager for the Midwest Indian Mission where he creates life plans for the homeless, such as finding jobs and a place to live until they are able to get back on their feet. 
Eugene believes his experience will contribute to his success as a director because he works for people and has spent his entire life trying to make a difference in the lives of both the youth and adults in his community. Eugene said, “Family means the world to me like all families should. I believe I can do a great job for CoVantage members, because I have a deep faith that will guide me to do what is best for all.”
Eugene, and his wife, Michele, reside in Argonne.